Posted by: blackfootsmj1 | May 19, 2011

“Do you pray for people?” And the blessings of the Word of Wisdom.


It was a long afternoon in my first area with my missionary companion Elder Huff. We went to go contact a girl, Tania, we were teaching. We always got heckled pretty good in this project. 2 young 20 year olds, in white shirts and ties, don’t really fit in so well. All the tenants who lived there usually called us the “Jesus People.” It was definitely a rough area. Cops coming in and out, frequent drug deals, and gunshots will probably give you the idea of where we were. It was the sorta thing I had become accustomed to, but thought it only existed in movies. We walked up to the door where Tania lived. We knocked it and a big guy opened it and I saw that the living room was full of other people. He asked us what we wanted. I sheepishly answered “Is Tania here?” He laughed and said “She aseep.” We chatted for a seconds, and he lit up a smoke. Then blew it in our faces. As we were about to leave, he asked. “Do ya’ll pray for people”, I answered and said, “Yeah, we do. What do you want us to pray for.” He replied, “Maaan. I need some cash.” I was too afraid to laugh. Elder Huff answered and said “I’ll say a prayer for you…” He bowed his head, and put his hand to his forehead. It was silent for about 20-30 seconds. He lifted his head and looked the man in the eyes and said. “God answered. He says stop smoking and you’ll have more money.” Everyone in the room behind him started laughing. And they all said “Yo, Jesus boys got you!” I had to laugh too. The man then laughed, and got the point. He invited us in and he woke up his sister and we were able to talk to her.

I learned a lesson that day, God only helps those who help themselves.
It was my first area. I had been a missionary for a whoppin 5 months when it really hit me all the blessings we can get for keeping the Word of Wisdom. Or any commandment for that matter. If only we just do as God commands. The Word of Wisdom was specific revelation to Joseph Smith as a health code for our bodies. The Lord has invited us to abstain from alcohol, tobacco, coffee, tea, and illegal drugs. Why? Because those substances are all addictive and hamper our ability to receive revelation through the Holy Ghost. We may not know the complete reason why, but what we can know whether or not it is good and true by living it. Ponder John 7:17, “If any man will do his will, he shall know of the doctrine, whether it be of God, or whether I speak of myself.” We can know if the Word of Wisdom is a true commandment if we live it. I have come to see the promised blessings of the Word of Wisdom in my own life. The Lord promises us these 4 blessings, just for obeying this simple commandment.

D&C 89
“18And all saints who remember to keep and do these sayings, walking in obedience to the commandments, shall receive health in their navel and marrow to their bones;

19And shall find wisdom and great treasures of knowledge, even hidden treasures;

20And shall run and not be weary, and shall walk and not faint.

21And I, the Lord, give unto them a promise, that the destroying angel shall pass by them, as the children of Israel, and not slay them. Amen.”

I know the Word of Wisdom to be a true commandment. It’s a revelation from God through his servant, the Prophet. I know if we keep this simple commandment the Lord will bless us for obeying it.

There is one more blessing though, that God didn’t mention…we will always have more money.

Leave a Reply

Categories

